top of page
  • iep161

【Study abrodad】Questions often asked ②

Updated: Jan 31, 2022



Hello, this is Take!


I would like to continue answering questions about studying abroad from last time.


In the previous article, I answered questions about motivation and preparation for studying abroad, so if you haven't read that article yet, please read that too.




This time, I will answer questions about studying abroad and living in the US.




✨Questions about studying abroad and living in the US✨.



Q. How is the situation with Corona in the US?


A. Compared to Japan, I feel less nervous about Corona. However, in Mississippi, where I am from, we have to wear masks when we go into supermarkets and stores, and at the university, we have to wear masks when we go inside the buildings, and we take classes with masks on.


By the way, I had the vaccinations designated by the University of Mississippi and two doses of corona vaccine before in Japan, I came to study in the. U.S. After arriving in the U.S., I received the flu vaccine at the university clinic.





Q. What do you always eat?


A. My parents often ask me this question, but I basically cook and eat the same things that I do in Japan. I often make miso soup, pork miso soup, curry, ginger pork, pork cutlets, spaghetti, etc. Eating out is expensive, but cooking for myself is not.


Eating out is expensive and cooking for myself is a hassle, so I survive by making things like pork miso soup and curry that I can eat for a few days. Miso paste and curry powder are also expensive, but you can buy them at international stores or online.





Q. How difficult is it to study in graduate school in the U.S.?


A. It's not so much the content of the classes that is difficult, but rather the fact that my English is not good enough to understand what the professors are saying, to read the textbooks efficiently, and to write the reports on time.


During the semester, I am mentally overwhelmed because I cannot keep up with the lectures and do not have time to write assignments. However, even my classmates who speak English have a hard time, so I think graduate school classes are not easy.





Q. Did you make any friends in America?


A. I made a few friends, but they were good friends! In my image, I was supposed to make friends with my classmates, but in graduate school, classmates change every lecture, and everyone goes home right after class, so it's hard to make friends. (In my case)


However, the University of Mississippi offers Japanese language classes, and I was able to make friends with students who were taking those classes through cultural exchange events. My friends are all people who are interested in Japan, so I can speak a little Japanese. I really appreciate my friends, because I think the enjoyment of studying abroad will be completely different if you don't have friends.





Q. What will I do after I graduate from graduate school?


A. After graduating from the graduate school of the University of Mississippi, my first choice is to work in the United States.


However, it is not easy for international students to find a job in the U.S. due to visa issues, etc., so I am considering various options, such as finding a job at a Japanese company again using Boskalis or finding a job in a country other than the U.S.





These are some of the questions I am often asked by people around me. I hope that even one of these questions or answers will be helpful to you.




Thank you for reading this far. I'll see you in the next article!

19 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page