top of page
  • iep161

Apps and Web Services you should know about!






Hello, this is Take!




In this article, I would like to introduce some apps and web services that you should know about when you study abroad in the United States.




If you just know the names of the apps and services I'm going to introduce here before you study abroad, I think you'll have a smooth start to your study abroad experience!










Blackboard: university course management and assignment submission service



The above screen is called Blackboard. This is a Learning Management System (LMS) to manage your university classes and assignment submissions. There are other types of LMS, such as Canvas or Moodle, that schools and universities may use.


You should check your LMS every day to see what your professors have to say and what assignments you have for the week. You may also be asked to submit your assignments from your LMS!



Please note that this service is not the same as the campus portal site where you register for classes, etc.



I found a video explaining how to use it, so I'm posting it here.












Quizlet: for studying for university exams




Quizlet here is a web service that, simply put, allows you to create word cards on the web and use word cards created by others.




I'll put the link below so you can use it if you are interested.











Venmo: person-to-person transfers within the U.S.



This app is used to transfer money between individuals. Almost 100% of my college friends have this app on their phones!



I currently live in a shared house and my roommate pays the utilities, so we divide the utility bill by the number of roommates and pay it through this app.



Also, when we all buy family-size fried chicken, someone pays it on our behalf and says "$7 per person with Venmo!" I often use Venmo like that.



But I don't think you can download this app until after you come to the U.S., so try downloading it after you get here and get your phone number and bank account set up!










box: High-capacity cloud storage




This service called Box has exactly the same functionality as Google Drive. It is one of many types of cloud services available. ​



When submitting large assignments, photos, etc., professors sometimes say, "I'll make a folder in Box and you can upload it there," so if you know that Box = a place to upload something, like Google Drive, you're good to go!










Amazon: everything from rice to household goods




Next, I will introduce Amazon, which I know many of you use in your own countries as well!



I don't think I need to explain much about Amazon, but you can buy almost anything from food such as rice to household items on Amazon.



For international students without a car, it's not easy to buy large items at a store and bring them back home, so make good use of Amazon!










Weee!: Online store where you can buy Asian food products





This site is an online store where you can buy Asian food products. I usually buy udon noodles, ramen noodles, etc. from this site.




Here is the link!




There is another online store where you can buy Asian foods. I suggest you try both!






Just knowing the functions of the apps and web services I've introduced here beforehand will save you a lot of trouble when you come to study abroad!



Please, keep this information in the back of your mind!



See you in the next article!

27 views0 comments

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page