top of page
  • iep161

Weekly Timetable For University Students in the U.S.






Hello, this is Take!




I would like to share with you the timetable of a University student in the U.S., which I am sure everyone who is aiming to study abroad would be interested in.




In this article, I will introduce the timetables of three students attending the University of Mississippi, including myself.




Let's get started!






Example 1: Timetable for a sophomore accounting major




The first one will be my friend's timetable. He is an accounting major who also takes Japanese classes, so he speaks a little Japanese.






Looking at the timetable provided, it appears that he is taking 16 hours of classes per week.




According to the timetable, he has a lot of free time, but he is still busy every day because he has a lot of assignments in all of his classes.




Just like in Japan, where I come from, American universities have required courses and elective courses that you can choose from.




Therefore, students consult with their advisors and decide which courses to take and how to schedule their classes. I think this is no different from universities in your country.








Example 2: Timetable of a music education major, 4th-year university student




The second one is the timetable of a friend of mine who is majoring in music education. She participates in the university marching band and music clubs, which keeps her insanely busy every day.





It's bad when you look at the timetable. LOL.




When she practices her instrument or joins a club such as a marching band, she gets busy at once.




She has to do her assignments outside of the time listed in her timetable, so I don't think she has much free time. I think it is really amazing.




Don't worry, not all university students in the U.S. are this busy. Just set up a timetable that suits your pace and you'll be fine!







Example 3: Timetable of a first-year graduate student (me) majoring in marketing



Finally, I would like to share with you my fall and spring semester hours as a first-year graduate student.



Fall Semester 2021


In the timetable above, gray represents classes and orange represents GA (Graduate Assistant).



Since I receive a scholarship in exchange for working as a GA, I am required to work 20 hours per week on campus. That is the time in Orange that I am in between classes.



Looking at this timetable, many of you may think, "Hey, aren't there fewer class hours?" That is true. There are only three classes per semester.



However, graduate school classes are designed for students to study outside of class, so even with this schedule, I had to do my assignments every day while heaving and groaning.



Incidentally, my job as a GA is to spread the word about the University of Mississippi (especially the Intensive English Program) to prospective students through social media.



If you are interested in studying abroad, check out our social media!







Spring Semester 2021




The spring semester is the same with three courses, so the timetable is not that different.






I have introduced the timetables of three university students so far. My own impression is that it is not so different from that of Japanese universities. However, in terms of graduate school, I feel that there are an unusually large number of assignments.




I use most of my weekday evenings and weekends to complete assignments, partly due to my low English proficiency. There were many times during the semester when I almost lost my mind because I couldn't finish my assignments! LOL




But don't worry, as long as you do the assignments you are told to do and turn them in properly, your professors will give you a good grade.





That's all for now, this is an introduction to the timetable of a university student in the U.S. I hope you find this article at least a little interesting. Please take a look at my other articles as well. See you soon!




35 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page