top of page
  • iep161

SIM cards for cell phones in the U.S.

Updated: May 20, 2022





Hi, I am Take!



In this issue, I have received many questions from prospective students, "What should I do with my cell phone SIM card in the U.S.?" I will answer this question based on my own experience.



Please make sure to choose a SIM card that fits your study period and budget!






Prepaid SIM cards are also available for short-term study abroad



If you are studying abroad for a short period of time, such as a semester, you can use a prepaid SIM card sold at Walmart or other grocery stores.



This is because universities and dormitories have a wifi environment, so you will hardly use your cell phone for data communication.



Prepaid SIM cards can be purchased for as little as $20 per month, so they are recommended for those who are only staying for a short period of time or just using it as a temporary connection for the first month.







My friend and I use an AT&T SIM card


I decided to go with an AT&T SIM card after hearing from a senior student studying at the University of Mississippi.



The contract plan is as follows: you have to pay $300 for a year at a time, but it is $25 per month, so it is not that expensive.


- 8GB of data per month
- $300 for 1 year ($25 per month)


However, an American credit card (or debit card) is required at the time of the contract.



I am sometimes asked if 8GB of data allowance per month is enough, but since all universities, dormitories, etc. have a wifi environment, I almost never use data communication. If I do use it, it is only when I go out or travel.


Here is a link to the SIM card I use.




By the way, my friend uses AT&T unlimited data plan because she uses a lot of data communication. Please choose a plan based on your own usage.


Here is a link to the SIM card my friend uses.




See you in my next post!




28 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page