top of page
  • iep161

【Study abrodad】Questions often asked ①



Hello, this is Take!



This time, I've compiled a list of questions that I'm personally often asked by my friends and those who are aiming to study abroad, in a Q & A format.



I'm sure there's some useful information for those of you who are planning to study abroad in the future, so feel free to read on!




✨Questions about motivation and preparation for studying abroad✨



Q. Why did you decide to study abroad?

A. Since I was a student in Japan, I have been going abroad to the United States, Africa, and other countries for international conferences and research, and through these experiences, I decided that I would challenge myself to study and work abroad in the future.

After graduating from university, I got a job in Japan and was preparing to study abroad by studying TOEFL with the intention of getting an MBA as a working adult, but when I was accepted for a scholarship that I casually applied for, I decided that I couldn't miss this chance to study at the University of Mississippi.





Q. Did you study for TOEFL or IELT to prepare for studying abroad?


A. Yes, I studied a lot for the TOEFL! I submitted my TOEFL score to study abroad, and I have never taken the IELT, but most universities require either the TOEFL or the IELT for application, so I don't think either will be a problem. If possible, I think it would be a shortcut to study abroad if you take both tests and concentrate on the one you are more likely to score well on.




The following is a link to the application requirements for the University of Mississippi, so please refer to it when preparing to study abroad.






Q. Did you go to any prep schools to prepare for studying abroad?



A. As I mentioned above, I was aiming to study abroad for an MBA, so I went to a prep school for MBA study in Tokyo. It cost a lot of money because it was a prep school, but I am glad that I went there because I am now actually studying in the US.



My friends sometimes ask me if I should go to a prep school, but if you can afford it, I think it is more efficient than studying on your own because you can study with specialized textbooks and they can correct your essays when you apply. Of course, you can study abroad without using a prep school without any problems.





Q. What is your TOEFL score at the time of application?


A. My TOEFL score at the time of my study abroad was 89.


I was studying to get over 100 points, but I didn't feel like I could reach it at all. I was actually able to study abroad with this score, so please refer to it. As for English, even now that I have studied abroad, I continue to study it in order to understand my graduate school classes in depth.



It was hard for me to take TOEFL more than 20 times in order to study abroad, so if you are currently feeling discouraged by TOEFL preparation, please do not give up and keep studying. No matter how long it takes, if you do it until you win, you can study abroad!






Thank you for reading this far. I hope you found some useful information in the article. See you in the next article!




15 views0 comments

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page