top of page
  • iep161

Three of the best things I've bought since coming to America!




Hello, this is Take!



I would like to introduce you to some of the things that I have bought since I came to study in the U.S. that I think are great and very useful!



I'll also include the prices of the items I bought, so I hope this will be helpful to those who will be going to study abroad in the future.



So, let's get started!



First: Bicycle, $180 ($30 per semester for rental)



The first one I would like to introduce is bicycles.



In fact, the U.S. is a car-oriented society and few people ride bicycles, but if you want to buy a car, you will need to spend at least $5,000.



In comparison, you can buy a bicycle for less than $200, so I think bicycles are a very convenient means of transportation for international students.



Also, the University of Mississippi, where I am studying, has a bicycle shop on campus where you can rent a bicycle.



Here is the website of the bike shop



You can rent a bicycle for $30 per semester, which is a great service for those who are only staying in the U.S. for one year as an exchange student.





Second: Heater, $76



This one, as I'm sure all international students have experienced, is that air conditioning in the U.S. is insanely powerful!



In classrooms, buses, shared houses, etc., being indoors in the summer is colder than in the winter.



I think the first thing that bothered me when I first came to America was the temperature of my room. I live in a shared house, and each floor has the same air conditioning and heating.





My American roommate and I had completely different temperatures, so one of us had to put up with the other, and I was freezing in my room every day.





I was freezing in my room every day. I even blocked the air-conditioning vents.



That didn't solve the problem, so I finally bought this heater, even though it's summer!













Also, Mississippi is in the southern part of the U.S. and winters are very cold, so this heater is still working great now that winter is here. I'm really glad I bought it.



By the way, Mississippi also gets a little bit of snow in the winter.













Third: Hair clippers, $40




These clippers have also been very useful to me.



I bought them to try to cut my hair myself since I had no transportation and didn't know where to go to the hair salon.







I also bought a pair of cutting scissors to go with it.


I watched a YouTube video on self-cutting and was able to cut my hair just fine using hair clippers and shag scissors.



Best of all, going to a hairdresser will cost you about $25 to $30 for the cut plus tip, so you'll save money if you cut it yourself! LOL!



If you cut your own hair yourself twice, you can recoup the $40 cost of the clippers, so I think it's a good self-investment.



However, I would like to experience a haircut in the U.S., so I would like to visit a hair salon when my English becomes more fluent.








Extra: monitor $130


I've always liked working with dual monitors since I was in my home country, so the first thing I bought when I came here was a monitor.



In my graduate school classes, I have to write and submit reports on a daily basis, so having dual monitors greatly improves my work efficiency.






This is because I can write reports on one monitor while working on papers and research on the other.



If you are still working with only one computer, you should buy a monitor and see for yourself. I highly recommend it!




So, these are the things that I am glad I bought after I came to study in the US. I don't know if this information will be of any help to you, but thank you for reading this far.

I'll see you in the next article!

18 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page