top of page
  • iep161

The Rebel lifestyle - My experience as an international student at Ole Miss


Hi everyone!

My name is Nina, I'm 21 years old and from Germany. I spent the previous fall semester (which was the fall semester of 2021) as an exchange student at Ole Miss and absolutely loved my time there!

I met so may amazing people, made a lot of new friends and got to experience the American college lifestyle.

What I especially love is the atmosphere on campus. Everyone is super friendly, welcoming and open-minded. Just after a few weeks, I felt like a part of the University - an Ole Miss Rebel myself.




I am absolutely amazed by how united the students are, especially on game days - just the feeling of being a part of something big.

That leads me to one of my favorite memories during my time at Ole Miss: The football home games!


Before coming to the University of Mississippi, I was not interested in football at all. After going to the home games, cheering for our Rebels and experiencing the atmosphere in the stadium, I have to admit, I started liking football a lot and I am still keeping up with the games (even though I am already back in Germany).



Every game day has a different "color theme" (always one of the Ole Miss colors though!) and students dress up according to that theme. That means people wear either powder blue, red, navy blue or white.


BUT, there is no game day without tailgating.

Ole Miss football fans put up tents, in which they have food, drinks, chairs and sometimes even a TV.

Walking through the grove (where tailgating takes place) is an incredible experience.



No picture will ever be able to describe and capture the atmosphere on game day. Walking through the stadium, being a part of the crowd, experiencing the exciting atmosphere in the stadium, singing the Hotty Toddy cheer with all of the Ole Miss fans.


I will never forget all the great memories I made at Ole Miss. Without a doubt, I can say: "Ole Miss is, and will always be my second home!"


And with that being said:

- ARE YOU READY?!! -

Hell yeah, damn right.

Hotty Toddy, gosh almighty

Who the hell are we - Hey

Flim Flam - Bim Bam

Ole Miss, by damn!




24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page